And there it was…

And there it was: exacting and persistent, unforgiving and conspicuous as ever. It neither cares for my schedule or my need for sleep.

There it was… that deep, familiar longing to write.

I’m afraid that wherever I go, words will always follow. They pester and annoy me until with not a few heavy sighs, I walk over to my desk and commit them to paper. Or well, you know, the fathomless depths of the internet, otherwise known as this blog.

⇔⇔⇔⇔

Clearly, binge-watching Downton Abbey has taken a toll on my writing voice.

Here’s to my favorite character, Violet Crawley, Dowager Countess of Grantham, who has all the best lines in the show:

Violet: “I’m so looking forward to seeing your mother again. When I’m with her, I’m reminded of the virtues of the English.

Matthew: “But isn’t she American?

Violet: “Exactly.

— Violet, speaking to Cora and Matthew about Martha Levinson.

4 thoughts on “And there it was…

  1. No shrinking Violet, the Dowager she is what I dream of being when I grow old (or up for that matter) … acerbic and withering, she is pure gold. As is all of Downton of course.

Leave a Reply

