Accent

IMG_3602

“Wait?! You weren’t born in Mexico? But your Spanish sounds so Mexican. You have that rhythm, that accent, that I associate with Mexicans,” a Colombian friend recently told me.

I beamed with pride, “Well, thank you. That actually means a lot to me; I’ve been criticized for my accent before.”

And just like that, I was transported back to high school biology…

*Cue dream sequence music* 

“Hold on, you’re Mexican?” says the boy sitting next to me.

“Um, yeah,” I raise my eyebrow, implying that this should be obvious.

“But I’ve never heard you speak Spanish. Let’s see. Speak it, and I’ll be able to tell.”

I don’t know if it was the pressure of proving my identity with a few words, or if it was because I had been speaking English all day, but when I opened my mouth, out came the most Americanized, gringo-fied accent I’ve ever had.

I was mortified.

He laughed, “Nah, I knew it! You’re not Mexican!”

“Wait! Hold on!” I pleaded, and I began speaking in Spanish again. The words came tumbling out, rambling on about nonsense topics until that native-like phonology came back, until I recognized my voice.

“Oh,” he said, “never mind, I guess you are Mexican.”

At first, I was relieved; however, that moment bothered me for years to come. Why should my accent matter so much? Why would a few random words define who I am? No, I mean, why would I let another person tell me who I am? And if my English did affect my Spanish, if my accent got fudged a little, if it did sound a little American, why is that so awful? Am I any less Mexican or American? Am I any less me?

Accents are funny things; slippery and variable, subtle yet persistent, minute but meaningful. And now as a linguistics grad student, I welcome the comments on my accent. I’m always curious to know what the daughter of two vastly different cultures must sound like.   


If you liked this post and would like to keep up with Make the Welkin Dance on social media, please like my Facebook page and follow me on Twitter @WelkinDance. Who knows?!? You might even get free coffee! Okay, probably not from me, but each day carries the possibility of free coffee from somewhere…

Featured photo by yours truly.

8 thoughts on “Accent

  1. I speak like minor English Royalty. At school I was horribly teased and adopted an authentically local yokel accent and became adept at sliding into sounding like whoever I was with. I can still do this but these days I fight the urge. Because I like my true voice. It’s who I am, where I came from. It’s the scars of being relentlessly teased, it’s the echo of those long-gone it’s my fabric. I don’t have an exotic heritage but I do have a voice. Yours is a wonderful voice.

  2. I don’t know what I sound like – sometimes it’s not me 🙂 I do admit I don’t much like it when I hear my own voice played back, it sounds flat. In my head I always sound better 🙂

Leave a Reply

